Advisory Board

The Advisory Board was composed of one representative and one alternate from partners, sponsors and select individuals who, in the sole opinion of the organizers, could contribute to the growth and betterment of HMA and served stakeholders' interests better. It was by invitation only, made annually.  

The board membership cum network partnership was completely voluntary and carried with it no obligations or privileges. At the annual meeting the board members / Network partners gave comments about how HMA could better serve the stakeholders, discuss future venues and other issues and concerns. 

As a general rule, representatives from the following were invited to attend the annual meeting, usually lunch on the second day of HMA:

  • Partner Hospital Associations
  • Ministries of Health or participating Government health organisations
  • Major Sponsors that contribute to the HMA programme
  • Sponsors who have supported HMA for 5 years in a row
  • Special individuals the organisers might invite (ad hoc) from time to time.

Chairman of Advisory Board
Dr. Pongpat Patanavanich

President, The Private Hospital Association of Thailand

President & CEO, Mahachai Hospital

Chairman of Asian Hospital
Management Awards
Dato' Dr. Jacob Thomas

President, Association of Private Hospitals of Malaysia

Chairman, Ramsay Sime Darby Healthcare

Programme Director
Dr. Chalerm Harnphanich

Chief Executive Officer, Bangkok Chain Hospital

Dr. Eric de Roodenbeke
Chief Executive Officer
International Hospital Federation

Dr. Rustico Jimenez
Private Hospitals Association of the Philippines

Dr. Widy Wibisono
Chairman - International Relations
Indonesian Hospital Association (PERSI)


Dr. Wasista Budiwaluyo
Secretary General
Indonesian Hospital Association   
Prof Luong Ngoc Khue
General Director of Administration of Medical Service, Ministry of Health Vietnam

Dr. Ha Thai Son
Secretary of Administration of Medical Service, Ministry of Health Vietnam

Dr. Libby Lee
Director - Strategy & Planning
Hong Kong Hospital Authority
Dr. Wai-Lun “Allen” Cheung
Former Director – Cluster Services
Hong Kong Hospital Authority
Dr. Huberto Lapuz
Philippine Hospital Association

Dr. Htin Paw
Myanmar Private Hospitals’ Association
Gov. Merle Salvani
National President
Philippine Nurses Association
Dr. Yoon-Soo Kim
Korean Hospital Federation

Dr. Phan Thanh Hai
Vice Chairman
Ho Chi Minh City Medical Association

Dr. Girdhar Gyani
Director General
Association of Healthcare Providers (India)
Prof. Sea Huong
Cambodian Medical Association
Dr. Yash Paul Bhatia
Managing Director
Astron Hospital & Healthcare Consultants & Astron Institute of Social Sciences, India
Dr. Vijay Agarwal
Consortium of Accredited Healthcare Organisations

Prof. Rene Domingo
Head of Moderators, HMA /
Professor, Asian Institute of Management

Paula Wilson
Joint Commission International

Mr. Benedict Stanberry

Dr. Dilshaad Ali Bin Abas

Chief Executive Officer
Avivo Group

Jeyakumar (JK) Balasundararam
Chief Operating Officer
Aster Aadhar Hospital
Aster DM Health Care

Dr. Lawrence Lai

Special Advisor
International Hospital Federation
Peter Lee
Deputy Director
Ministry of Health Singapore

Would you like to join our team of expert advisors? Please contact us at or call: +65 65903970